Knoxville Criminal Defense Attorney
Protect Your Freedom & Your Rights Get a Nationally Recognized Attorney On Your Side.

Knoxville Statutory Rape Defense Attorney

Let Attorney Kurtz Defend You Inside & Outside the Courtroom

If an adult who is at least 18 years old has consensual sex with a minor who is younger than 18, then the adult could be charged with statutory rape in Tennessee. A conviction carries harsh criminal penalties, such as imprisonment, steep fines, and registration as a sex offender, which is why it is imperative to avoid such an outcome at all costs with the help of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.

If you are being accused of statutory rape in Knoxville, do not hesitate to let Robert R. Kurtz, Attorney at Law protect your rights, reputation, and freedom. With over 18 years of experience, Attorney Kurtz has handled serious and complex sex crime cases and knows how to get the most favorable result in court.

To schedule a free consultation by calling (865) 896-9779 today.

Tennessee Statutory Rape Laws & Penalties

In Tennessee, statutory rape is prosecuted under the state’s rape and sexual battery laws. The criminal penalties are based on the age of both the defendant and alleged victim.

The following is a breakdown of the statutory rape penalties according to both parties’ ages:

  • The minor is at least 13 years old and the adult is at least four years older than the child, or the minor is at least 15 and the defendant is over five (but less than 10) years older – This is considered statutory rape, which is a Class E felony that is punishable by imprisonment for up to six years and a maximum fine of $3,000. However, if the child is at least 13 and the defendant is at least 10 years older, then the offense is a Class D felony, which carries a prison sentence of up to 12 years and a fine no more than $5,000.
    • Keep in mind, there is a “Romeo and Juliet” exemption for consensual sexual activity between a minor
      who is at least 13 years of age and a person who is less than four years older.
      For example, if an 18-year-
      old engages in consensual sex with a 15-year-old, then the older person cannot be charged with
      statutory rape.

  • The minor is younger than 13 years old – Sexual contact involving a minor who is younger than 13 is considered aggravated sexual battery, which is a Class B felony that is punishable by a maximum prison term of 30 years and a fine not exceeding $25,000. Sexual penetration of a minor who is younger than 13 is considered rape of a child, which is a Class A felony that carries imprisonment for up to 60 years and a maximum fine of $50,000.

Keep in mind, there is a “Romeo and Juliet” exemption for consensual sexual activity between a minor who is at least 13 years of age and a person who is less than four years older. For example, if an 18-year-old engages in consensual sex with a 15-year-old, then the older person cannot be charged with statutory rape.

Ready to Fight for You Today!

Our Knoxville statutory rape defense lawyer can investigate your case, collect and examine evidence, and build a strong and personalized defense strategy to either reduce the charges/sentence you face or get your entire case dismissed. Let us help you tell your side of your story.

Call (865) 896-9779 to learn more about our experienced firm.

Awards

  • Avvo Rating
  • Head Counsel Rated
  • TACDL
  • NACDL